toil and trouble

What’s the best holiday ever invented, you ask? No, it’s not Christmas (though that comes in as a close second) and no, it’s not Thanksgiving (just the thought of that food baby sends me into a premature turkey coma). Give up?

Halloween. It’s Halloween.

image

I take Halloween very seriously because it only comes (sadly) once a year and the whole festive season just doesn’t last long enough. Although I indulge on scary horror flicks and frivolously pin all the Halloween inspiration on Pinterest all year round, I take it to a new level come October. And I never skimp on decorating for the holiday.

image

This year I seem to have somewhat themed my decor; witchy vibes – think potions and spells and lots of creepy Spanish Moss, the kind that you still find wedged deep into the crevices of your carpet in July.There’s something about witches that has fascinated me all my life. I love the history behind the legends and all of the enthralling narratives involving these broom-riding, eye of newt gathering mavens. And it couldn’t be a better time to enrich myself with witchy goodness.

image

image

image

And yes, Frankenstein doesn’t really mesh well with the theme but I drew him with my own hands and how could I leave him out?

I use sage bundles and Palo Santo wood pretty regularly to energetically clear my space and it is not “witchy” in the slightest but it does look pretty on-point sitting atop some burlap in my abalone shell (and yes, skull man back there looks anatomically awkward because I drew him and I’ve only had one anatomy class my whole life).

image

If you have any amazing ways of decorating for the season, I would love to see them! Tag me on Instagram or leave your links in the comments so we can fan-girl about Halloween together.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Happy Haunting

 

-Terrin

One thought on “toil and trouble

Leave a Reply

